Tameside is split into 19 wards, with each ward represented by three councillors. Elections follow a four year cycle, whereby a third of the council is up for election for three continuous years, with no elections in the fourth year.

The Tameside Conservative Group is currently represented by eight councillors on Tameside Council, holding seats in Ashton-under-Lyne, Hyde and Stalybridge.

The Conservatives controlled the Council between 1976 and 1979 with over 30 councillors, and are slowly increasing their numbers up to their previous levels.

At the 2008 local elections, the Tameside Conservatives polled 36 per cent of the vote, recording a 7.5 per cent swing to them from Labour.

The Conservatives are the official opposition to Labour in Tameside.

Below are links to the pages of each Conservative councillor: